2009 - Portland, Oregon

October 17, 2009
2009 Annual Meeting, Geological Society of America, Portland, Oregon


Note: all abstracts are in PDF format. PowerPoint presentations may be large. It is best to download the files to your computer first and view the presentation from your local disk.

Video from Keller presentation

Note: you must have version 7.0 of Quicktime to view the movie

Introduction - Three-Dimensional Geologic Mapping: An International Perspective
Berg, R.C., H.A.J. Russel and L.H. Thorleifson
Abstract (61KB)           berg@isgs.illinois.edu

Troy Valley Glacial Aquifer: 3D Hydrostratigraphic Model Aiding Water Management in Southeastern Wisconsin, USA
Kallina M. Dunkle, David M. Mickelson, Mary P. Anderson, and Michael N. Fienen
Abstract (352KB)           dunkle@wisc.edu

Application of Three-Dimensional Geologic Models in Developing Groundwater-Flow Models
Claudia C. Faunt, Donald Sweetkind, and Randall T. Hanson
Abstract (536KB)           Presentation (31.6MB)           ccfaunt@usgs.gov

3D Down-Under — What are the Australians up to in 3D Hydrogeology
Bruce Gill, Don Cherry, Xiang Cheng, Jon Fawcett, and Mark Reid
Abstract (296KB)           Presentation (13.8MB)           Bruce.gill@dpi.vic.gov.au

Make a Difference Outside your own Backyard
Ian Jackson
Abstract (256KB)           Presentation (9.4MB)           ij@bgs.ac.uk

Progress in 3D Geological Mapping in the Eastern Prairies of Canada and the USA
Greg Keller, Gaywood Matile, and Harvey Thorleifson
Abstract (1.2MB)           Presentation (31.2MB)           Video (4.3MB)           greg.keller@gov.mb.ca

Building on Geological Models — The Vision of an Environmental Modelling Platform
Holger Kessler, Diarmad Campbell, Jon Ford, Jeremy Giles, Andrew Hughes, Ian
Jackson, Denis Peach, Simon Price, Hans-Georg Sobisch, Ricky Terrington, and Ben Wood
Abstract (872KB)           Presentation (2.8MB)           hke@bgs.ac.uk

Do Geologic Mapping Programs in the U.S. as Presently Constituted Meet Pressing Societal Needs?
E. Donald McKay III
Abstract (296KB)           Presentation (9.2MB)           mckay@isgs.illinois.edu

Mapping Locally Complex Geologic Units in Three Dimensions: The Multi-point Geostatistical Approach
G. Phelps and A. Boucher
Abstract (288KB)           Presentation (18.0MB)           gphelps@usgs.gov

Online Access, Visualization and Analysis of Canadian Groundwater Date
David Sharpe, Boyan Brodaric, Eric Boisvert, Charles Logan, and Hazen A.J. Russell
Abstract (720KB)           dsharpe@nrcan.gc.ca

Three-Dimensional Property Modeling of a Complex Fluvio-Deltaic Environment: Rhine-Meuse of Delta, The Netherlands
Jan Stafleu, Freek S. Busschers, Denise Maljers, and Jan L. Gunnink
Abstract (960KB)           Presentation (25.4MB)           jan.stafleu@tno.nl

An Agenda for Development of Vertically Georeferenced, Web-optimized, Subsurface Information
Harvey Thorleifson
Abstract (96KB)           Presentation (31.8MB)           thorleif@umn.edu

3D Geological Mapping: An Inescapable Evolution for National Geological Surveys
Catherine Truffert
Abstract (224KB)           Presentation (14.6MB)           C.truffert@brgm.fr

The Role of Geological Modeling in a Web-based Collaborative Environment
Keith Turner and Frank A D'Agnese
Abstract (400KB)           Presentation (30.4MB)           frank@earthknowledge.net

From 2D Cross-Sections to a 3D Model: A Toolset for Integrated Data Management, Modeling, and Visualization
Nat Voorhies, Scott Bowen, Tom Battenhouse, Rob Porges, and Tax Fox
Abstract (360KB)           voorhiesn@saic.com

Contribution of Geophysics to Geological Models
Helga Wiederhold, Reinhard Kirsch, and Wolfgang Scheer
Abstract (752KB)           Presentation (16.7MB)           helga.wiederhold@liag-hannover.de

3D Structure Modeling at the Federal Institute for Geosciences and Natural Resources (BGR), Germany
Birget Willscher, Rolf Rüdiger Ludwig, and Bettina Kühn
Abstract (1.1MB)           Presentation (5.3MB)           Birgit.Willscher@bgr.de